The Stories They Should Tell

Via Flickr: Mrs. Exception

Of all the stories on success…on finally making it…

Don’t tell me the story of the girl who found her prince at a blink of an eye. Tell me about the girl who had to kiss many frogs before experiencing magic.

Don’t tell me the story of the dancer with perfect form and style. Tell me about the dancer who overcame clumsiness to follow her dream.

Don’t tell me the story of the soccer player who never missed a goal. Tell me about the soccer player who lost the game but still came back for more.

Don’t tell me the story of the person who was born with a golden spoon in his mouth. Tell me about the person who was born with nothing and made diamonds from coal.

Don’t tell me the story of the writer whose books were instantly accepted by big-named publishers. Tell me about the writer who learned what rejection meant but never gave up.

Don’t tell me the story of the graduate who was promised a job before graduation. Tell me about the graduate who redefined patience before making it big.

Success comes in countless varieties…whether it’s by skill, talent, fate or pure luck. But I want to hear about the underdogs; the fighters; the determined souls who refused to accept the concept of “no.” I want to hear about the ones who were told they weren’t good enough, and proved the world wrong.

Tell me their stories. Those are the ones I want to hear.

: : : When she was just a girl she expected the world. But it flew away from her reach so she ran away in her sleep and dreamed of Paradise every time she closed her eyes. And so lying underneath those stormy skies she’d say, “Oh, I know the sun must set to rise” : : :

— Paradise, Coldplay —

2 Comments

Filed under Food For Thought

2 responses to “The Stories They Should Tell

  1. noos

    im so excited that you are spitting out these updates recently. keep it up!
    thank u for giving me hope that maybe i’ll become one of those stories…

  2. JD

    why aren’t there any stories about the soccer player that didn’t know he was a soccer player and still wasn’t good at it. or the girl that kissed the frog by accident, not knowing she was looking for her prince. or the graduate that even years after graduating didn’t know to do in life, not not given the opportunity to shine, but not knowing where to look for the freaking glitter! fml -_-

Leave a Reply

