Storybooks and Fig Trees

There’s one thing about books that gets me so addicted.

It’s that feeling that with the simple turn of a page it’s perfectly ok to just leave your own reality behind…no matter how glamorous or disappointing. Its that feeling that in the little time you spend wrapped in the lines and stories of someone else’s words you can stop worrying, stop hoping, stop thinking about anything else other than “what happens next.”

Besides…the best thing about books is that they always have an end. I guess sometimes you just get tired of living in a never ending plot.

Despite the fact that I may love books insanely, I have never been able to bring myself to read the same book twice. Except one…Sylvia Plath’s very own, The Bell Jar. I must have read it three or four times and i have no idea what it is that keeps me coming back to it. But there is this one part that gets me every time. One part that reminds me that sometimes books play tricks on you…that instead of putting your reality on hold, they just plunge you back into it and suddenly your filled with more worries, more hopes, more thoughts than ever before…

“I saw myself sitting at the foot of this fig tree, starving to death, just because I couldn’t make up my mind which of these figs I would choose. I wanted each and every one of them, but choosing one meant losing all the rest, and, as I sat there, unable to decide, the figs began to wrinkle and go black, and one by one, they plopped to the ground at my feet.”

I never really liked figs anyway…

: : : I tear my heart open. I sew myself shut. My weakness is that I care too much. And my scars remind me that the past is real. I tear my heart open just to feel : : :

— Scars, Papa Roach —

2 Comments

Filed under Raves and Rants

2 responses to “Storybooks and Fig Trees

  1. Anonymous

    The most amazing thing about time is that there is always an end to it…whatever ur going through…whatever is eating at you…it will go away…time will heal your wounds and in the end…a new day is on the horizon…hope is eternal…it cannot be lost…and pessimism does not make you superior…only more miserable…one of God’s greatest gifts to mankind is the ability to forget…otherwise ur life will be wasted dwelling on things that arent worth ur time or worry…just look forward to the next day because it will always come…no matter how miserable you are…

  2. Anonymous

    I know exactly what you mean about books. i feel the same way, and its so hard to convince people what they feel like. Btw, i love the Bell Jar. i read it long time ago but i want to read it again. Depressing ass book but i loved it.
    keep writing
    Love,
    Nora
    p.s: i forgot my livejournal password… im gonna get it soon and get writin for ya ;)

Leave a Reply

